Memorial Day,,,,,,,,, It has a history !

So we begin,,,,,,,, To all who have served and to the families who have given loan of loved ones.  With out your sacrifice this would not be home of the brave and the land of the free.  “Semper Fidelis” and have a blessed holiday.

World War I……………..

http://www.gwpda.org/photos/ 

 

World War II……………………….Normandy…………. “D” Day

 

Frozen Chosin…………..and some history of the forgotten war.

Vietnam…………….. welcome home………….. Thank you !

Desert Storm………

let’s not forget our coastal friends………. all part of the team !

Letters from Iraq………………

 

On may 28th 2010, we have now had 1,000 members of our armed forces die in Afghanistan. Now, add between both Iraq and Afghanistan our Country’s wounded warriers.  They are and represent the highest form of our citizenry and ALL volunteers.  What are you willing to do for the gifts they give you ?  Have they fought for generations so you can give your country away ?   Use these days to honor our men and women.  Hold and show this country’s families.  We respect them and their sacrifice.

Sunset Parade………… Let us put away the colors for tonight but  know while you sleep,  you can sleep well.  Happy Memorial Day and remember you can sleep because they keep watch.

If I ever go to war…
If I ever go to war Mom, Please don’t be afraid.
There are some things I must do, To keep the promise that I made.
I’m sure there will be some heartache, And I know that you’ll cry tears,
But your son is a Soldier now, Mom, There is nothing you should fear.
If I ever go to war Dad, I know that you’ll be strong.
But you won’t have to worry, Cause you taught me right from wrong.
You kept me firmly on the ground, yet still taught me how to fly.
Your son is a Soldier now Dad, I love you Hooah, Even if I die.
If I ever go to war Bro, There are some things I want to say.
You’ve always had my back, and I know it’s my time to repay.
You’ll always be my daybreak, through all of life’s dark clouds,
Your brother is a Soldier now, Bro, I promise I’ll make you proud.
If I ever go to war Sis, don’t you worry bout me,
I always looked out for you, but I can’t do that anymore,
Cause I’m a big bro to all in America.
I love you so much and you know that, Your brothers a soldier now Sis,
So wipe your eyes, I’ll be fine even if I die.
If I ever go to war my Friends, We’ll never be apart,
Though we may not meet again, I’ll hold you in my heart.
Remember all the times we had, Don’t let your memories cease,
Your friend is a Soldier now, Dear Friend, And I’ll die to bring you peace.
And when I go to heaven, And see that pearly gate,
I’ll gladly decline entrance, Then stand my post and wait.
I’m sorry Sir I can’t come in, I’m sort of in a bind,
You see I’m still a Soldier Sir, So I can’t leave them behind.
 

By PFC Jonathan W. Guffey – Alpha Company
101st Airborne 2/506th Infantry Air Assault – Iraq 2006
10 July 2006

The Lords Prayer for all in closing

For more on the Memorial Day celebration go here:  The JAG Hunter

13 Responses to Memorial Day,,,,,,,,, It has a history !

  1. Dean(Brown Water Navy) says:

    Semper Fi Tim.

    …fair winds and a following sea brothers…

  2. Patricia says:

    OUCHY!

    You did good Tim.

    Love

  3. tina says:

    God Bless our Troops,you will never be forgotten.

  4. MARINE MOM says:

    YOU DO ME PROUD! LOVE YOU ALWAYS

  5. James COFFEY says:

    Thank God for our service men and women , Some gave all!
    God Bless the United States of America!

  6. 1SG says:

    God bless and may all be watchful.

  7. Harry Riley says:

    Wonderful work Tim………thank you for you service and dedication to our nations survival……..God bless you special

  8. […] MEMORIAL DAY 2012 (click here) […]

Leave a Reply

